Apology

words – silenced by hidden tears
you stand before me, lacerated, angry
i only want to take the pain away
the regret, the longing
you would be right to never forgive me,
but we are both flawed, precious
and arrogant
both of us turn away, drowning in pride
i call you, hands outstretched
you walk further away from me
and they bleed.
you, beautiful and imperfect like me
perfectly human, i see you.
feel me present my vulnerability
please, love me with all my pain
with my fits of rage.
embrace me. heal me –
let me heal you.
and forgive my young mind,
for i still grow.

-K. Kanoelani

Leave a Reply

